Over Opiated is FINALLY out

Willowtip Records released our long-awaited 3rd record this past Friday. The 3 of us NEVER expected such a good reception. Personally, I love the record, but I’m subjective and thus my opinion matters not. Since the release, we’ve had thousands of streams on Bandcamp and Spotify and some pretty nice words typed about us assembled together by the peerless Clawhammer PR.

One of the most humorous pieces of press we received, was a shoutout from Knotfset. For those unaware, it’s Slipknot’s annual gathering of fans festival. Hell yes, we will show up and steal all your fans, Slipknot.

Purchase Over Opiated in a Forest of Whispering Speakers here

“Seven Nines and Tens nails the perfect balance of riffs and atmosphere, of grit and serenity.”
– Toilet ov Hell

“Absolutely brilliant. You can listen to the album in the background and it still sounds great, but when you immerse yourself in it with headphones in a dark room, it’s the perfect thing.” (4.5/5)
– Metal Epidemic

“As challenging as it is, the overall appeal of such weirdness is what makes this a standout release of 2022. Even at this early stage, Seven Nine and Tends have set the bar very high.” (9/10)
– Games, Brrraaains & A Head-Banging Life

“It’s post-metal in the sense that Seven Nines and Tens deliberately escape classification. When they do lean into muscularity, their riffs harken mathy noise rock.”
– Invisible Oranges

“As complex, multi-faceted and heavy as it is melodic, focused and accessible.” The elements that contribute to that overall sound include pretty much any genre you can throw a post in front of. Thus post-hardcore, post-metal, and post-rock. Add in some jazz, some psych and some math, and you’re good to go. A pleasantly progressive melange of all these.”
– The Progressive Aspect

“A monument of creativity and technicality.”
– Rock’n Force

“Parts shoegaze, parts progressive metal, with nods to quite a varied bunch of influences ranging from Jesu to Intronaut, to Cave In, and Alcest. A gigantic and bass heavy sound, with at times thundering drums and guitars, but the beautifully layered clean vocal choirs take the aggressive edge off it.”
– Weirdo Shrine

“Seven Nines and Tens‘ best outing to date.”
– Angry Metal Guy

“Especially noteworthy are the harmonized vocals. They are pensive and emotive. The rugged instrumental work is also a key feature. A unique and charming offering within the annals of the overarching Rock genre.”
– Metal-Temple

“The kind of thing capable of elevating your heart into your throat.”
– No Clean Singing

“Powerful. A continuous transition of situations and personal instances of the band, where every time they feel that things are getting denser, they lower the resolutions and put clean effects or they decide to stop the musical density to give shine to more guitars, acoustics.”
– Metallerium

“Do not sleep on this one. Wow.” – Metalinjection.net

“Throwing Rocks at Mediocrity” premieres on Invisible Oranges.

Photo by Milton Stille/Dark Energy Industries

Single #2 from our forthcoming album Over Opiated in a Forest of Whispering Speakers premiered yesterday on Invisible Oranges.

“It takes balls to name their track “Throwing Rocks at Mediocrity,” and actually stick the landing. Nevertheless, they do.”


Thank you Invisible Oranges. Check out the song at the link above ^

Pre Order Over Opiated in a Forest of Whispering Speakers here: https://sevenninesandtens.bandcamp.com/

Throwing Rocks at Mediocrity on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QXlU3cBX_M8

Thanks to Clawhammer PR and Willowtip Recs/Universal Music Group

Popular Delusions video

Bobby Markos of midwestern power trio Cloakroom cooked up a visual bong load for our new single Popular Delusions. JJ Koczan was gracious enough to premiere it on his Obelisk page for us. We have been rehearsing regularly and will be playing many a stage in 2022 supporting “Over Opiated in a Forest of Whispering Speakers.” Pre-order the record from Willowtip Records / Universal Music Group HERE

Semi on-topic, for fun I created a playlist highlighting the Post Hardcore genre. Of the genres we borrow from, you could argue it’s the most prominent. It started with 8 songs that I chose. Between sharing it on various music communities, it has reached over 30 hours in run time. Have a listen to it HERE

“It’s been a long time coming, it’s well worth the wait.” G. Downie

A Tragically Hip reference as usual to coincide with a new release by Seven Nines and Tens. The first single “Popular Delusions” from our 3rd record “Over Opiated in a Forest of Whispering Speakers” has finally arrived. I’ll save the anecdotes and urban legends of group/personal creative and artistic triumph for another time. Please go pre-order the album available on Willowtip records/Universal Music Group and turn the new single to 10

The album cover “Lost” was designed by Ahmed Emad Eldin https://www.instagram.com/ahmed.emad.eldin/?hl=en

The band logo was designed by Conrad Keely of And You Will Know Us by The Trail of Dead https://www.facebook.com/conradkeelyart

Released by https://willowtip.bandcamp.com/ / and distributed by https://www.universalmusic.com/

Album Release

I’ve been talking to our label about the release date for the record. It won’t be much longer. We recorded 4 of the 7 songs on the record 3 years ago (!) next month. I’d love to take shortcuts with all this business, mainly that of writing songs, but I cannot. I’m currently editing demos of songs for our 4th album. I started really writing for the next record in March of 2019 and since then have come up with 50 song ideas which I’m chipping away. I can’t say much about it now other than it will be our heaviest and complex while simultaneously melodic and accessible overall release in our discography.

@ Raincity Recorders

We tracked the final numbers to be included on “Over Opiated in a Forest of Whispering Speakers” on Sunday, July 5, 2020, @Raincity Recorders with JJ Heath.  I could argue this was one of the best recording sessions I’ve been a part of.  All photos were taken by our pal Colin Bradley.  Our 4th album will probably take a long time to make as well.  Art is difficult lol – Dave

July 5, 2020

Damn, the time has flown.  We are recording the final two songs for our 3rd record on July 5, 2020 @ Raincity Recorders in Vancouver.  The songs are entitled “Midnight Marauders” and “Let’s Enjoy the Aimless Days While We Can.”  I have never been as excited about a recording session or new songs as I am about these.  Max, Alex, and I have pushed our level of preparedness for these sessions to new personal heights.  I’ll post some pictures of the sessions afterwards.  Stay safe, everyone.


Ps some toys to be used on the recording.


The Waiting is the Hardest Part…

It’s been a while since my last post.  Aside from radio silence on this page, we have been working hard behind the scenes arranging the release of our 3rd record.  We are signing to an excellent (understatement) American record label and will be announcing the signing within the next couple of weeks.  After that, we will be announcing a release date for the record (yes, they are pressing the album on wax) and a ton of other news.  We are going to gig the hell out of this record so if you’ve ever wanted to see us play live, get ready for your chance.  – Dave Cotton